100% Satisfaction Guarantee

Brand new, quality books for the thrifty librarian.

What Is the Rock Cycle?

From the Series Rock-ology: The Hard Facts About Rocks

Some of the rocks we see around us are millions of years old. Rocks don't stay the same forever, though. Rocks are changing and becoming new rocks all the time. Inside this book, readers will follow a clear, accessible, step-by-step journey through Earth's rock cycle. They will find out how igneous rock forms from magma following a volcanic eruption. Then they will explore how the igneous rock is eroded by rain to become sediment that eventually forms new sedimentary rock. When Earth's crust moves, the sedimentary rock is crushed, baked, and transformed into metamorphic rock deep underground. Finally, completing the cycle, the metamorphic rock is heated and melted to once again become magma. Filled with information perfectly suited to the abilities and interests of an early elementary audience, this colorful, fact-filled volume gives readers a chance not only to learn, but also to develop their powers of observation and critical thinking. From stunning photographs to high-interest facts, this book makes learning about Earth's ever-changing rocks a lively, engaging experience.

Format List Price Your Price Qty
$26.99 $18.95
$41.36 $28.95
$31.99 $23.95
Interest Level Preschool - Grade 3
Reading Level Grade 2
Subject Language Arts, Science
Copyright 2015
Publisher Bearport Publishing
Language English
Number of Pages 24
Publication Date 2014-08-01
Reading Counts! Level 4.5
Reading Counts! Points 1.0
Dewey 552
Graphics Full-color photographs, Full-color illustrations
Dimensions 10 x 8
Lexile 840
Guided Reading Level L
ATOS Reading Level 4.7
Features Author/Illustrator biography, Detailed maps, Glossary of key words, Index, and Table of contents

Author: Ellen Lawrence